Trudging Muddy Waters

image

I walk a lot.  I mean, everyday I walk to over 70% of the day.  Not that it’s a bad thing at all….but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like to walk.  The fresh air, the beautiful scenery, the sounds of God’s unique and gentle creatures,  and then the splash….your shoe soaked, the chilling rush of muddy waters that consume your sock feet; and the realization of your positive focus on God gone as you now are angry over your muddy, oowie-gooie shoes covered in gunk.

Typical right?  A great day goes south in a matter of a step.  All that noticing of good going on wiped away with the covered slug all over you.  Does that make you think of many different things that relate?   Negative thoughts?   Sinful acknowledgements?  Lustful thinking?  The mindful mud that covers our already clean selves IF we have accepted Jesus Christ as our personal Savior!  Yeah, we may know we are clean by the Blood of the Lamb; yet that won’t stop the mud from getting on us and working to convince us we are still dirty with God.

It begins to feel like this:

image

Personally, I get tired of seeing the mud. To know that I am clean in the eyes of my Savior, yet nothing I see but filth.  Sure, you might be thinking to yourself, “Chad why you being so hard on yourself?” Yet you don’t know the weight that I still carry.  But Chad Jesus is the one now carrying your burdens! Yeah I know that, but I still like the world and what has to offer.

That’s hard for me to admit, loving my Jesus as much as I do. But in all reality, I’d be a fool not to admit that the tantalizations that this world gives is hard to resist.  You ever feel that way? That you can love something so much, and wannabe as close to it is possible so much, yet your held between the bars of lust and the reality of eternity?  You find yourself looking back at your life and thinking, “what would have been like if I chose this? How would I be viewed by others if I live this way, and not His way?”

To know that we can see, touch, and feel the world around us and all that has and yet have to have a belief and deep enough FAITH that what is unseen is better?  That’s way tougher than it looks! No matter what any narrow minded, better than you, kind of Christians like you to believe that they don’t struggle with that!  WE ARE ALL TRUDGING THROUGH THE MUD of sin, insecurities and feelings of unworthiness!

image

It’s ok to admit the trudging….it’s ok to admit you are weak before an understanding and loving God.  But we must strive to change the amount of mud we allow on us!  For me the realization came a couple of weeks ago, when I found myself looking up old female friends and old girl friends on Facebook. Now there’s nothing to say that being friends with them is wrong; it’s what my mind was making me think that made it wrong.  I began to physically feel the tingles of lust run through my body as my eyes were looking at these pictures. To me, that is the Holy Spirit’s warning sign of me needing to flee and not go trudging!

Since then I realized that I need to limit the amount of people I have on Facebook. Its a sacrifice that I need to make, maybe that I don’t want to make, but I NEED to for my God, and for my wife.  Only people that I really consider a friend, I’ve tried to keep only on Facebook. There are a few exceptions, but they are mutually agreed upon by my wife and I as ok. What is it for you? What is it in your life that is the mud that sticks to you? What pits are you trudging through that God is trying to clean you out of?

image

Today I’m writing this blog as a cry out to not only my God above for me, but for all those of you who read this blog. It’s time to quit looking at ourselves as dirty and filthy, it’s time to see ourselves the way God sees us! The only way we will ever be able to quit trudging through the mud, is to embrace the grace that he’s given us….stop living in sin, feeding your own egos, your own wants and your own desires, and LIVE like a free child of God!

The world wants us to believe that were average, and imperfect. But God, through His Son Jesus’ sacrifice, has made us beautiful to Him! Will you please, with me, embrace God and sacrifice your own wants that only carry mud?

Romans 6:1, 3-7 NIV

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? Or don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.   For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we will certainly also be united with him in a resurrection like his. For we know that our old self was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin— because anyone who has died has been set FREE FROM SIN.

Leave a Reply

