A Classic Line of B.S.

20131022-100759.jpg

When I was a child I was like many youngsters and often fantasizes about doing impossible feats for my age. Jumping out of airplanes, bungee jumping, being a SilverHawk shooting lasers out of my forearms….(dating myself aren’t I?….LOL). But another curious adventure dreamt about was riding a mechanical bull. No, not a real bull because they’re too scary! ๐Ÿ™‚

To this day I have never ridden a mechanical bull and frankly, wouldn’t want to now. Yet the thought of riding one and accomplishing that dream would have given me something to talk about! “Man, you should have seen how I controlled that bull! I mean that thing didn’t have a chance of bucking ME off!” This would sound like a classic line of B.S. (Or in “G” terms, a line of bull poopy!)

Most likely I would have crashed and burned, hurting my pride in the process. Growing up, I continued the fantasies of the what if’s in my life and for some, breeding the expectations of others falsely due to my superior “B.S.” that I so expertly used to make myself look good. When maturity finally sunk in and the reality of fantasy versus reality of life finally distinguished itself, I was left with a lot of unusable “B.S.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Enter the NO B.S. ZONE!!

20131022-114733.jpg

I learned the hard way that I couldn’t properly show who I was to others with the coating of B.S. being the first thing they heard. After so long of repetitive use, the “B.S.” becomes what we should dread it becoming….the truth…to us. Once a lie, or an exaggerated truth is used enough, it becomes one’s truth no matter what others are saying. it becomes a practiced falsehood of who you REALLY are! No one is impressed anymore and no one tends to believe you upon the first breath used.

So how does someone leave the The B.S. Zone? Well, if you’re in Christ, and REALLY trying to love for Him, then you know you’re a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17)! It’s time to look past the old you full of the smelly fecal mouth; it’s time to use the fresh breath of the Holy Spirit! Aaahhhh!!! Doesn’t that taste better?? ๐Ÿ™‚

One do the dangers I feel it’s necessary to point out is as your walking with Christ, DO NOT let your witness become a different side of “B.S.”! Meaning, too many times if you are uncomfortable in your faith, you will often times define your own faith and biblical knowledge. In turn tour witness becomes its own ill-defined view of Jesus that isn’t quite biblical. Whether your preaching or teaching; volunteering or working; praying or reading, your vocalized rendition because a classic line of B.S.!

But you will never again say, โ€˜The message of the Lord,โ€™ because the only message you speak is your own words. You have changed the words of our God, the living God, the Lord All-Powerful. (Jeremiah 23:36 NCV).” Gods words are much too important and meaningful to make your own spin on it! What He means, HE MEANS! If you go about your walk with Christ with an attitude of whatever you tell someone is the Gospel; than your giving them less than His best! As Paul said to Timothy, “Such teachings come through hypocritical liars, whose consciences have been seared as with a hot iron. (1 Timothy 4:2 BOOKS)” Do you hate the word hypocrite? I know I do! Being someone you’re not, especially someone who God doesn’t intend you to be….is SAD! Who wants to live a life as a FAKE?

20131022-195239.jpg

So why does all this mean something to me? Well, since I’ve been pastoring I’ve done a lot of thinking on how well I’ve spoken God’s word effectively. Each time I’ve been honored and blessed to be His vessel and preach I’ve done as much as I can to study and prayerfully interpret what He’s leading me to say. However there is times that I struggle to believe that what I’m planning is His will and not some lack-luster B.S. I’ve conjured up! However, the more He moves in hearts, the more He shows His love through what He has me say, I KNOW there is less “B.S.” and more of Jesus Christ in me!

My father was used by The Lord I believe recently when I pondered this struggle after my latest sermon. He said, “How was your sermon today son?” I proceeded to tell him how much I felt the spirit move through me and how blessed I felt. He returned by saying, “You mean that great Taylor B.S.?” Knowing my Dad and how much I love and respect him more than any other person I know; AND the fact that he loves to joke with me A LOT….I wrote the comment off as a joke. However, after we hung up, I sat there awhile and wondered deep in my heart, “Is that all you bring in Sunday morning Chad? The famous Taylor B.S.?” Even though most all my being believes it not to be….noticed I said most?? There’s always some doubt looming because of all my human genes. But that isn’t Christ living IN ME!

The Lord said, โ€œIf you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you could say to this mulberry tree, โ€˜Pull yourself up by the roots, and plant yourself in the sea!โ€™ and it would obey you. (Luke 17:6 GWT)” My faith, even of its small, is focused enough on what God wants for us all to know that the mustard seed will grow God’s branches strong!

Surprisingly, within a half hour later my Dad called back and told me that he wanted to apologize for saying I was full of B.S. “I know your passionate about what you say and it means so much to you. I didn’t mean to call it B.S. I’m very proud of you and what you stand for and want to do” This emotional statement meant more to me at that moment than most any other comment I remember my Dad saying to me. For him to step out of his normal comfort zone and open up to me and tell me he’s sorry and is proud of me…..is God using him to encourage me!

So if your reading this now and have struggled to separate your “worldly B.S.” from your heavenly voice; it’s time to see the light in you! You need to see the “B.S.” isn’t The Lord and it isn’t the YOU He made for His kingdom work! Take the classic line of B.S. and embrace the eternal walk with the Holy Spirit!

Thanks be to God for his indescribable gift! (2 Corinthians 9:15 NIV)

One thought on “A Classic Line of B.S.

  1. Amen!!!!! I am proud of as well!! I truly believe God is using your voice to speak to many different people in many different ways!!!! I am also thankful you are seeking to hear what He has for you to say!!!!! I love you!

Leave a Reply

