Dreary Rain, Fizzled Fireworks & Bracelets!

20130705-095200.jpg

It’s interesting how we prepare for a holiday weekend or event. Many of us go about our week planning who’s coming and what were gonna do. Others stress over preparations and count the days until its all over. No matter what the occasion, we are just glad to celebrate something positive!

Is that always the case though for real?! I mean, does the heightened moment really bring us the satisfaction we’ve been needing, wanting or even desiring? The 4th of July “holiday” has always been a fun one to plan in the beginning; yet by the end of it at least for me, a disappointment rings in my ears instead of the whistles and bells of fireworks.

Why does any or most holidays celebrated cause so much dissension or stress amongst family members?? Why can’t we relax like we are meant to when a celebration comes? It’s not just the 4th of July….it’s Christmas, Thanksgiving, Valentine’s Day, etc. We are too caught up in how we look, what we do and how well we do it!

Our day started well. We slept in, ate out at Cracker Barrel (one of our favorites!) and baby sat one of the cutest little girls we know (next to ours)! Then it happened….Satan turned up our insecurities and physical fatigue. A stupid comment I let eat at me Amber said caused her to question my mood (cause I was quietly processing) and BAM!!

The rest of our day seemed to me as a bunch of nagging, nit-picking and attitudes! This occurs through a movie and up to firework time! Then, at the fireworks, God provides us this AMAZING sunset to overshadow our moods only for us to let the disappointing fireworks we went to (we couldn’t see them from all the smoke/clouds!) set us back into our pouting!!

We want, we want, we want….but what we get from God is ALWAYS better than our own selfish desires! I was reminded of the little things that are so precious like riding together in my Dodge and having Angel in between us and we all hold hands. That’s what family is….the symbolisation of love and unity from intertwining hands. The cuddling moments on the couch, in the vehicle or just the gentle words of “I love you Daddy”.

Jesus told us in John 16:33, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”
Overcome the big things like cancer, overcome the small things like stupid spats about whose right versus whose wrong. HE HAS OVERCOME IT ALL!!

This morning at my first stop, it would be easy to say I was tired and distracted. The trailer I went up to was dirty and smelly. A pile of ripped out carpet and moistened cork board laid outside the front door. I was here for roaches. Needless to remind you I dislike bugs already, not to mention roaches in general are the worst. Walking in I saw a place attempting to be remodelled; much of the place in total disarray.

The two guys there, a father and his step-son, were pretty homely looking but nice. Afterward, the father left leaving the step-son to finish up service with me. I noticed on his wrist a red band; you know, those ones that look like WWJD bracelets or the old pink cancer bracelets (made of rubber!). This one caught my eye because it said “God is good.”

I quickly upon getting ready to vominoose told him “Nice bracelet!” and smiled. He turned to me without hesitation and took it off saying, “Here take it! I have plenty in the truck!” I was taken by the gesture and quickly accepted his offer like a kid a Christmas. I thanked him and completed my service; then walked to my truck and left telling him “God Bless!”

What a couple days of events emotionally! What’s most intriguing about this is again how we can so easily miss God reaching out to us! We get so distracted by the negative headaches and gobbiligook….that we miss out on His consistent presence in our lives!

Look around….He is with us even now. God IS good….God is with us always. Forgive me Lord when my selfish emotions cloud your presence and shield my eyes from seeing you! AMEN!

“The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” –John 3:8

Leave a Reply

